Mother Tongue

​Traveling through a land foreign to my own

Trying so desperately to hold on to the language that was etched into my bones

Mother tongue
I never wanted to leave you

Considerably I never had control
Constantly being surrounded by another tongue’s soul
Slowly being replaced by the one I used to speak at home

Mother tongue
I never wanted to hurt you

In the depths of deep conversations
Itching, my tongue slips with word that have no relations
Expecting aaf somali to be like water flowing from fountains
Little did I know it was more like writing on mountains

Mother tongue
I never wanted to lose you

Like a puzzle being put into place
Linguistically my mind forms the sentence, conveys it to my tongue
And with errors it is laced
Overwhelmed with a sense of shame
I am over came

Mother tongue
I have failed you

But now it is spring
Trees blossoming
Gabeey and baraanbur flowing into the streets
And it is here, where the love for my language will forever be
As if by memory, it will never cease

Mother tongue
Finally, I can see

Leave a Reply

